Harry Potter and the Cursed Child! Review

Author: J.K Rowling, John Tiffany & Jack Thorne
Length: 330 pages
Publishers: Little, Brown

Harry Potter and the Cursed Child is the eights harry potter book in the series, however it is written different compared to all of the others. The Cursed Child is written as a script, which I thought was interesting. It was nice to read, as it was different from the other books in the series and also books that I choose to read. I found that it was fairly easy to read and enjoyable, along with it being fast paced and flowed nicely into each act. I also found that I could picture what was happening on stage as I read it, and it reminded me of being back in school in a drama lesson, which I really liked.

Fans of the Harry Potter series will already have a preexisting knowledge of the main characters, which I found helpful whilst reading; because you know the characters and their traits you’re able to connect with easily. Throughout the script it had shocking twists and events, which kept the reader interested and wanting to know more. Despite it lacking description and the beautiful world of Hogwarts and the wizarding world being described to reader you still felt drawn into the world. I also found that I felt sympathetic to Albus, Harry’s son and Scorpious Draco’s son because of them being seen as the outcast and how Albus never saw himself as being the right son for ‘the famous Harry Potter’.

However, I did really miss how descriptive and beautifully written the world was in the previous book. Don’t get me wrong, I enjoyed this book/scrip nonetheless but it didn’t have the same vibe as the other books, which I found really disappointing. I do recommend this book to Harry Potter fans because your own reading experience of this book might be completely different to mine I’d love to hear your own thoughts. Overall I gave this book 3.5*

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

