Book Haul!

So over the past few weeks I have accumulated a few books, so I thought I would share them with you.

The first book in this book haul is Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, I have all ready read this and written a review. This is the “8th” Harry Potter story, however this is written as a play. If your interested to read my opinions my post on this book is here.

The second book is Hitman Anders and the meaning of it all by Jonas Johnson, I got this book in Tesco’s they had a two for £7 deal on their books so I couldn’t help myself. The synopsis of the book is about how five thousand kronor goes missing, and it happens when staying at grotty hotel in south Stockholm and its particularly awkward because the money belongs to a hitman. Per Persson the hotel receptionist, just wants to mind his own business, and preferably not get murdered. Johanna Kejellander, temporarily resident in room eight, is a priest without a vocation, and, as of last week, without a parish. But right now she has two things at her disposal: an envelope containing five thousand kronor and an excellent idea. This book just sound really fascinating and I’ve heard that Jonas Johnson is a really good writer, so I’m looking forward to reading this book.

The third book is what I’m currently reading and that is I am the Messenger by Markus Zuask. I read The Book Thief and that is my number one favorite book. I love his writing style and how beautifully written his books are, and this one doesn’t disappoint! The synopsis, Ed Kennedy is an underage cub driver without much of a future . He’s pathetic at playing cards, hopelessly in love with his best friend, Audrey, and utterly devote to his coffee-drinking dog, the Doorman. His life is one of peaceful routine and incompetence – until he inadvertently stops a bank robbery. That’s when the fire ace arrives in the mail. That’s when ed becomes the messenger. I really wanted to read something else by Markus Zuask and this was the one that grabbed my attention, and its absolutely fantastic, a review will be posted once I’ve finished reading it.

The fourth book is Me Before You by Jojo Moyes,  this film adaptation for this book was released this year and I was really interested by it, but I need to read the book first. This was the other book I brought in Tesco’s for as part of the deal they had on. The synopsis, Lou Clarke knows lots of things. She knows how many footsteps there are between the bus stop and home. she knows she likes working in The Buttered Bun tea shop and she knows she might not love her boyfriend Patrick. What Lou doesn’t know is she’s about to lose her job or that knowing what’s coming is what keeps her sane. Will Traynor knows his motorcycle accident took away his desire to live. he knows everything feels very small and rather joyless now, and he knows exactly how he’s going to put a stop to that.  What Will doesn’t know is that Lou is about to burst into his world in a riot of colour. And neither of them knows they’re going to change the other for all time. This novel sounds like a lovely romantic story and I’ve not read many of romantic novels so I felt compelled to branch out.

The fifth book is The Watchmaker of Filigree Street by Natasha Pulley. I just found this book in Waterstones, and found it really interested so I had to buy it. Anyone who has an addiction to books will understand the need to buy a book that just simply fascinates you. The synopsis,  He lived his life like clockwork until he met the watchmaker. In 1883, Thaniel Steepleton returns to his tiny flat to find a gold pocket-watch on his pillow. When the watch saves Thaniel’s life from a blast that destroys Scotland Yard, he goes in search for its maker, Keita Mori – a kind, lonely Japanese immigrant. Meanwhile, Grace Carrow is sneaking into an Oxford library, desperate to prove the existence of the luminiferous ether before her mother can force her to marry. As the lives of these characters become entwined, events spiral out of control until Thaniel is torn between loyalties, futures and opposing geniuses. This book just founded to fascinating I had to buy it!

The next three books are a trilogy which is Daughter of Smoke and Bone, But I’m only going to tell the synopsis of the first book because I don’t what to know what the second and third book is about. I just heard that these books were really good and its one of my favorite genre’s to read, fantasy!! The synopsis,
Errand requiring immediate attention. Come.
The note was on vellum, pierced by the talons of the almost-crow that delivered it. Karou read the message. ‘He never says please’, she sighed, but she gathered up her things.When Brimstone called, she always came.
In general, Karou has managed to keep her two lives in balance. On the one hand, she’s a seventeen-year-old art student in Prague; on the other, errand-girl to a monstrous creature who is the closest thing she has to family. Raised half in our world, half in ‘Elsewhere’, she has never understood Brimstone’s dark work – buying teeth from hunters and murderers – nor how she came into his keeping. She is a secret even to herself, plagued by the sensation that she isn’t whole.
Now the doors to Elsewhere are closing, and Karou must choose between the safety of her human life and the dangers of a war-ravaged world that may hold the answers she has always sought. I just thought it sounded really interesting and I cant wait to marathon this series.

So that concludes my book haul, I brought a fair few books which I’m really happy about and so excited to read them all!

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

